Vintage Fair Fun

mikone vintage fairLast Saturday I joined my friends Darcie and Holly at the Mikone Farm Vintage Fair held in beautiful Cobble Hill, BC. on Vancouver Island. This annual vintage is fair is not to be missed if you are on Vancouver Island in late June.

These two remarkably creative sisters had a wonderful stall and did very well indeed. Here is their beautiful display with a few of my collage pieces for good measure.

ruth and nelly vintage

Darcie of Ruth and Nelly Vintage and Handmade sells beautiful vintage linens and other treasures. She also designs and makes beautiful upcycled pillows, clutches and bags from vintage fabrics. Take a look at her business page. She does custom orders. Her pillows and clutches sold like hotcakes at the fair.

10507091_1685633128335424_2611263503614201488_o 11020245_1677126112519459_8657823711048562332_n

Her sister Holly of Twisted Poppy makes beautiful handmade tunics using fine cotton/hemp blends and upcycled vintage lace tablecloths. I own one of her tunics and LOVE it. I have had it for a year now and it is still lovely. You can find her on Instagram @twisted_poppy.

twisted poppy

There  were many an added bonus to helping these two out. It was rather like a party as many  friends and colleagues visited the fair to lend their support.  One HUGE perk  was having our dear friend Alwen of Belle Brocante at the neighbouring stall. I ended up handing over all my allowance to her. Sigh! It was worth it! I kept sneaking over to visit her when Darcie wasn’t looking. He he he.  Check out some of the treasures I found. She also had a very successful day at the Fair. Everyone was blown away by her beautiful antique wares from the flea markets of France. Hurray for A. !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd then, I happened upon a super deal…a 1920s vintage underwood typewriter for very little moola. So I went into the red. I have wanted one of these babies for ages. When I arrived home gleefully with all my treasures, the mister just shook is head sadly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But wait, as if it couldn’t get any better, a few days later, my darling friend Darcie presented me with the best thank you gift EVER! A vintage cuckoo clock in a charming state of disarray, it’s innards delightfully exposed! I feel an extra super special assemblage may come out of this! Her mister made her throw in a bottle of wine as he thought she was off her rocker to offer me a broken clock as thanks for helping her out. He he he, how little they understand…but wine is good so thanks to the mister.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All in all a very satisfying enterprise.

This post is for Boomdee at Boomdeeadda as she requested that I post my finds from the vintage fair. Here you go K. Enjoy.

16 thoughts on “Vintage Fair Fun

  1. Ooohhh frenchapple you must have had a ball! All those wonderful things and the Underwood – I am green with envy! Will look forward to seeing what wonderful creation the cuckoo clock transforms into!

  2. Holy Toledo you’ve hit the Jackpot of the Century. I’m overjoyed for you W because I know these bits of history couldn’t have found a better caretaker. I’ll say caretaker as things are never ours forever, we just mind them while we’re here. Can’t you just imagine who’s desk that typewriter has sat on, what they were wearing or typing. What was the date? I love all this stuff for the hidden stories they carry. Everything little thing screams take me home. I must really try and come in June, I would go mad. That clock is going to make the most remarkable assemblage ever. To think they threw in a bottle of wine too, awesome! All that good Karma is paying off in spades W! Thanks for sharing and linking to my blog too, you’re a doll.

    “oh, look! what’s that over there?” !!! (this is when you turn to look and I scoop your typewriter and run, hahhaha)…xo K

    • well i thought you might like the post. i was writing it with you in mind…but as for your typewriter stealing ruse…i hang out with 7 year olds…i would never fall for that one! you will have to come up with a better plan on your next visit lol!

Leave a Reply

