In the studio

Creartfuldodger will be not be cre-arting for awhile…

Instead I will be working on my new studio, in an artful way of course.

Whoot! Whoot! It’s a real studio, not just a corner of a busy shared space!

Phase one : Repurpose a salvaged tool drawer unit that was destined for the skip.

Here it is in it’s before state: or almost we added some wood to hold it together.

Note the ugly brown paint and green labels…it was dirty! I decided to try my hand at chalk

paint for the first time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Added two shelves and a new top with some trim.  Sanded and cleaned each drawer. Two coats of Emerald Green Fat paint and wax purchased from Cameo Boutique and Union 22 in Cobble Hill. Reaffixed the old copper hardware. Lined the drawers with old Atlas pages. And it was ready to hold some creartful junk. Feeling smug! Merci Michel mon cheri pour ton aide et ton soutien!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

23 thoughts on “In the studio

    • Thank you ….old atlases are a guilty pleasure…I have too many of them so…voila…I use them on the back of my pieces too…. like I am sending them off on adventures or something. Hahaha.

      • A great idea. Apart from my own atlases, which I still use, I haven’t seen any old ones lately. I must check next time I am in the second hand book store.

  1. Oh, be still my beating heart. LOVE your new filing cabinet. How glorious to have all these little draws to fill. I’ve just discovered calk paint as well. Did you build the entire facade it sits in? Still in California tonight, but Guess who’s surprised me with a visit? Alys arrived tonight after dinner, I sobbed with happiness.

    • Oh what a nice surprise! I hope you had a great time. Enjoy your trip fully my dear. Yes we built the bookcase and top that the tool drawers sit in. My design and Michel’s building skills. we are working on a paper filing cabinet right now. It is so much fun to find the bare bones and then do a transformation. Go off and enjoy the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

