THIS MAN REFUSED TO OPEN HIS EYES: assemblage

This man refused to open his eyes
to the possibility of a different kind of life.
He remains imprisoned
by the same old patterns
that got him here in the first place.
Trapped by his unwillingness
to make a change.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Assemblage box: How to

Step one Find a suitable box: old wooden whiskey crate

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step two:
Cover the box inside and out with old papers…in this case city plans from an old atlas and an old french document from 1868

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step three:
Gather found objects and ephemera that suit the theme or idea
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step four:
Make shelves to fit chosen objects
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step five:
Affix shelves and main image (mug shot from the 1920s)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step six:
Affix found objects
beach combed door handle, padlock, key, metal arrow tag, safe dial, glass eye ball, fishing hook, mouse trap, wooden castor

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

11 thoughts on “THIS MAN REFUSED TO OPEN HIS EYES: assemblage

  1. wow, that whiskey box is fabulous recovered. What kind of glue did you use W? I think your narration is really cool too. These mugshots seem so amateur don’t they? The guys hair is really wacky. Doesn’t look like someone you’d want to mess with. Eclectic and cool collection. Seems like the door knob was under water?

    • Hi K. I am glad you like the narration. I use Golden soft gel matte medium to glue papers down and also as a top coat. I always Gesso the surface first to make sure the glue adheres properly. You need to glue the surface and the back of the paper to avoid air bubbles. To glue the shelves and the found objects I use GOOP. You can buy it at the hardware store. Marine GOOP is the best.Yes the door knob was underwater my daughter beachcombed it for me at low tide. She is always hunting for things I can use in my artwork. She helped me choose which mugshot to use. She said that is her favorite of my “weird pieces.”

  2. Pingback: Boomdees Summer Adventures – She’s Adorable ! | Boomdeeadda

  3. I love your work!! I have found you through Boom’s Blog. Everything is well done and completely unexpectedly mesmerizing! I commented to Boom on your yardstick assemblage how pleasing it was…. You take on it, and everything you do seems very fresh to me compared to what others are doing. Keep up the GREAT work!!

    • Hello Gardensunshine ( What a great name ) Thank you for the lovely comments. I appreciate your feedback…fresh and mesmerizing …I like that. I will drop by and visit your blog too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

