MOTHER : collage

Old family photos and keepsakes languishing in the bottom drawer, treasured yet rarely viewed. With a little imagination and some help from Photoshop, you can easily create something worth hanging on your wall that has meaning for you.Image

My mother and her pal at 8 years old in 1933. In the back ground I layered a picture of my great grandmother’s house from the turn of the century with two pages from my mother’s autograph book from 1937.  One page from her own mother and one from her pal Mae.  I decided to chop the photo to allow the word mother to peek through. There are in fact the three generations of mothers represented here.  I scanned all the  documents so I did not actually chop the photo and still have all the original family documents.

My grandmother’s message to my mother 

Dear Shirley,

You will pass through this world but once. Therefore any good that you can do or any kindness that you can show to any person, do it now. Do not defer it nor neglect it. For you will not pass this way again.

Mother

Image

My mother at aged 21. My father was courting her. He loved this picture and kept it on his night stand all through their married years. In the background I layered a letter he wrote her during their courtship with a picture of my father and his cousin building the house that was to become our family home. This piece represents both my parents and our family home. I use Photoshop Elements to layer pictures and text. I like that I can choose the opacity and light in the layering.

4 thoughts on “MOTHER : collage

  1. Lovely, W! Made me a little teary. You are amazing. It is nice to be reminded of the quiet strength of our mother as we go through this difficult family time. And what a lovely idea for preserving mementoes. Love, D

    • Thank you sister. Mothers and daughters have been on my mind lately as you can imagine. Happily we have a legacy of love and strength to pass on to our own children. Art is therapy for me. I would happily make some family collages for you. Love back to you W.

Leave a Reply

