THE BORROWER: shadow box

The borrower swoops in to make off with your most prized possessions…the love letter from Berthe; your best horse’s tooth; your tiniest poison bottles; your magic crystal; your old tv tubes. He gleefully watches over them with a lock and key and waits, for your back to turn, so he can return to scamper off with more treasures for his hoard.

GIFTED to Robert

Image

Big shadow box (13″ X 13″). (SOLD)

Image

DETAILS: poison bottles, crystal, lock and key, t.v. tubes, watch front, a gauge, watch parts, old horse tooth, antique clock gears, an old tap, a label from a bottle of  Chateau Neuf du Pape, a 1908 French love letter from Berthe,  the ace of spades, an old slide ruler, an old French receipt from a Parisian chemist lab and a French document from 1794.

shelves 2 shelves

I must admit that this piece is somewhat autobiographical….

NEWS FLASH: This piece was chosen as one of three out of more than 100 entries in the CVAC Spring Art Show by judges to have a jury talk and won one of the BEST IN SHOW awards. Apparently it will go off with the others on a tour of other galleries in the area before returning home to roost.

13 thoughts on “THE BORROWER: shadow box

    • Thanks Anna, it really is me you know, I am always collecting other people’s discarded junk! LOL. I am thinking of entering this piece in our local spring art fair…I hope no one wants their stuff back!

    • Robert, t’es donc ben niaiseux, tu sais ben que je te te donnerai ou un semblable quand tu viendras en visite, Je ne te le shipperai pas par exemple, trop fragile!
      bises
      W.

    • Thanks, I love them too, it was hard to choose which loot to put in the piece but these items just seemed right at the end. I love your blog. It makes me want to come back to London treasure hunting, I love Brick Lane and Spitalfields markets, looks like I need to go to Greenwich too. 🙂

      • I love to visit London and have been several times but no, I have never lived there. I live on a beautiful island in Canada…but London Treasure hunting with a buddy sounds like great fun! 😉

Leave a Reply

